South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Renewal
Terms and Conditions

The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division is experiencing a tremendous influx of concealed weapon permit applications, both new and renewal. The applications are processed in the order in which they are received, starting from the date SLED actually receives the application. Processing is taking the full ninety days on both new and renewals. Please know that we are processing all applications as quickly as possible, while maintaining the quality of backgrounds required by law. Your patience is greatly appreciated during this time.

*Below is a temporary change in the concealed weapons permit law enacted during the 2013 legislative session. Temporary provisos are enacted in the State budget and are only effective for the State fiscal year (July 1 - June 30); unless re-enacted they expire on June 30, 2014.

62.22. (CWP Renewal and Replacement) A concealed weapons permit may not be suspended by a state official, agent, or employee supported by state funds if the permit holder has initiated a renewal or replacement application and the processing and issuance of a renewal or replacement permit is delayed for administrative reasons. A concealed weapons permit remains valid during the pendency of the renewal or replacement process so long as the application for replacement renewal is submitted prior to the expiration of the permit.

You must submit a paper renewal application if any information has changed since you last applied; to include name change, address change, or telephone number changes.

You will not be able to apply On-Line if you are:

If you are NOT ELIGIBLE to renew online, you MUST apply by mail.
Send your renewal request with a money order to:
SLED
PO Box 21398
Columbia, SC 29221
Attn: CJIS Dissemination

I certify that all above statements for this on-line application are correct. I understand that any false information attested to is reason for denial to my request for permit renewal and constitutes a crime of perjury, punishable by a fine of not less than $100.00 and imprisonment for up to six months, or both.

 

Warning: A non-refundable fee of $50.00 will be charged for renewal of your concealed weapon permit application.
If you do not wish to continue, press the Return button.